Diesel Forum - All Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
935 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been running a part synthetic oil for about three years now. And lately i've been thinking about going to full synthetic.
Question,Do you like the full syn?,what brand do you use?, and whats your oil change interval.

·
Registered
1,448 Posts

·
Registered
935 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Right now my oil change intervals are 7500 with the part syn.
Ignore the time displayed when this was posted. It's wrong.

·
Banned
1,488 Posts
97, any good synthetic will help out. It just depends on the amount of cost you're willing to invest, and if you have an older vehicle are you willing to over look that a synthetic will expose some sealing problems that the regular oil covered up?

I'm running AMSOIL 10w30 in our Power Stroke (bought from [email protected]). I have seen an increase of ±.5 mpg as long as my foots not into it. My next purchase when Luke @ Diesel Dawgs Performance can carrie it. Is a LifeTime oil filter. My drain intervals is going to be around 9,000 miles depending on my oil sample tests being done through our local cat dealer. The pro: It quiets HEUI injection system. The Con: My truck is an older truck that has never had a synthetic in it, So the initial cost was very great. I had to run a cleaner before putting in the synthetic. The other thing which I will over look for now, is that the truck smokes a bit on start up. After start up no smoke, problems.
AMSOIL
Schafers
Delo synthetic
Royal Purple
Champion synthetics <---New
These will all do well.

I used to be a full delo user, but they are notorious for soot build-up. Even their synthetics are no different, Shell is the same way. If I ever go back to regular I will go back to Mobile It has alway been good, their synthetic is not bad but not quite up to par as AMSOIL and schafers.

·
Registered
935 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
My truck is an older dodge,1997.
life time oil filter?