Diesel Forum - All Diesel Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello from Oregon. I am getting ready to retire and do some rving. I found this forum from my rv forums and have found it helpful in the past in figuring and understanding tow ratings etc. I'm no mechanic but like to be knowledgible about the vehicles I operate. Now I need some help regarding a rig I'm looking at.

I have been researching short fifth-wheels (24-26) I would also be needing a tow rig. When I started out the day I had neither. Now I have an opportunity to get an older Artic Fox in good condition along with the truck and everything to tow. Truck is a 1996 F250 powerstroke turbo diesel 7.3L 4x4 manual, extended cab with 148K. He calls it a Canadian model because it came with a lot of chrome. Seems in pretty good condition. Whole pkg truck and trailer $12K. Don't know anything about Ford diesel. Had a '95 GMC diesel, manual at one time. Would appreciated any thoughts. Have lots of questions. Thanks to all.

·
Registered
935 Posts
Welcome to diesel forums.
$12,000 for both is a steal.
the 7.3 powerstroke is a proven and reliable motor,and my opinion the best diesel ford put in their trucks.
I would recomend if you decide to get the truck to take it to a shop you trust and have them do a through inspection on the truck before you get it.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, that's good to know. The set-up is about 4 hrs away in Bend, OR. Anyone know a good shop in that area? I'll start making some calls in the AM. Re: the diesel. Is there anything in particular I should be looking for? 148K mileage any problem or special needs at this time? What about getting someone to work on it while I am traveling. Expense vs gas rig. Any and all input welcome.

·
Registered
935 Posts