Diesel Forum - All Diesel Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm new to diesel forum, but not new to diesels. bought a 7.3 new in 96, drove it for 8 years trouble free. currently own a f150.....love it. gonna keep it AND get a diesel for towing. looking at 6.0l's and know the woes. hoping to find one that has either already been updated, or one clean enough worth spending the $ on.

·
Registered
543 Posts
Welcome to DF from Colorado. Good luck with the search, I hope you find a good one.

It's great to see that the 6.0 woes have not steered you away from one. I love mine and really put it to work.

·
Registered
1,448 Posts
You sure do sound like you've done your home work.
Awesome plan.
WELCOME Glad you joined

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
so i picked up an 04 superduty lariat crewcab swb 6.0l auto with 160km/100miles. bought it off a ford dealership. one owner. just had an egr replaced. no oil cooler:4-dontknow: anyways, i took it for a short spin up a steep hill empty with a cts insight installed. ect 200f, eot 224f. (middle of winter here, cold ambient outdoor temps) decision time...leaning towards a bulletproof diesel oil cooler and egr delete. (this truck still has the original oil cooler).planning on running a light tune for towing/mileage,... sct? and plan to pull the cab to stud the engine and replace hg's although there are no current issues. goin to leave the intake alone, and run a free flowing exhaust, no cat. question is, do i have all my bases covered? or am i forgeting something. do i need to replace the turbo oil pipe? coolant filter not required with a bpd oil cooler/egr? trying to do it once, do it right, and build a reliable tow rig. thx for your input.

·
Registered
543 Posts