Diesel Forum - All Diesel Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am a newbie here. I am looking for some discussion regarding treatment that I am getting from Dodge Corp. I own a 2008 3500 Cummins Laramie and for the most part love my truck. But, it developed a problem at about 90,000. At low rpm with someone slow in front of me who is speeding up and slowing down, when I slightly give it some fuel after letting off, it drops in very hard in the rear end. It does not happen all the time, if I am driving without someone in front of me and giving it reasonable fuel, it shifts fine. It is just at low rpms off the pedal then on slightly which causes it to downshift or something that is very extreme. I took it in to the dealer and took them for a ride. They agreed that there was a problem. After reading codes and talking to Dodge Corp, they started replacing engine parts. None of which solved the problem. The dealer advised me to not drive the truck stating that with it down shifting so hard, other things will break. They had my truck from early June to mid Sept. The truck was still not fixed, but I had to have a truck. I just try to avoid driving at the speeds that cause the hard downshift.
I contacted Dodge Corp looking for 1. a solution to the problem and 2. compensation for no truck all summer. Not only did they deny any compensation, but they said from here on, any costs to fix the problem would be mine since the truck is now over the 100,000 mile warranty. Wow, the problem started before the warranty was up and they were unable to fix the problem... now I am totally responsible.... does not seem right to me.

Anyone else have this downshift problem? And what do you think about Dodge turning their back on me? Up to this point, I have been a loyal Dodge Cummins fan as this is my second truck ('95) but am becoming very bitter.

·
Registered
1,448 Posts