Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Whats the best chip for the buck?

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. Im Kind of new to the whole diesel truck world and would like to have a few questions answered involving possibly adding a chip to my 1999 dodge 2500 turbo diesel. I would like to purchase a chip that will increase my mileage,torque,hp...etc. but i need help on knowing what kind of chip you viewers might recommend.
1. What is the best chip to purchase for my make of truck?
2. What is the best chip for the best price. meaning like under 300.
3. What all do i need to make the chip work? is it as simple as just unstalling the chip itself? or do i need to make other purchase to make it work?
Thanks for the help!!
- Coje

·
Banned
1,488 Posts
I prefer a Programmer. So far Smarty has decent structure. If I was going to the EDGE I would use some of the older Edge products. The new stuff is just not working out. Some of them have been known to cause high EGTs (exhaust gas temperatures) in stock vehicles, this is not good if you're towing up a grade. it has a tendency to force PCM in the truck to loose power and have you pull off so that things could cool down.

Interesting poll? I have no idea how to vote on it. Were you trying to post up certain products to get a reaction, or what? Kinda confusing.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Smarty will give you good low end power but only around 65hp. Edge Comp or EDWA will give you a smooth and dependable 150-165hp over stock.
Edge comp and juice are 120hp max on VP44 engines, hot unlock only adds rpm, no hp.