Diesel Forum - All Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1998 ram 12 valve cummins in a quad cab dually auto trans,today i went to the store all was ok went to start it up and it turned over but would not fire up tried over a 30 min. period finally it started i brought it home and parked it till it's fixed[i maintain this truck religously oil every 3000,fuel filter as required ect.I was planning to do my oil change tomorrow plus tranny and fuel filter [doing that early] only because it has seemed to be turning over a few seconds longer lately and running a little funky today drove it around all morning to yard sales it acted normal. I have read that the injector pump goes out in these between 95-150,000 miles i just turned over 150,000. i'm a back yard mechanic but don't know enough about diesels to troubleshoot.I'm guessing lift pump or injector pump any help will be apprecated.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Changed fuel filter [it was black] adjusted the idle stop, changed the oil [did not have anything to do with my prob. just due] seems to start and run ok we'll see tomorrow.

·
Banned
1,488 Posts
BLACK! The fuel filter was black? What are you running in your fuel? You might want to test your fuel system, and see if you have good pressure before we start assuming stuff. I am interested in the fuel filter, need pics if possible. Was it gritty to the touch?

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·